Music in Lyddington: Ching-Yun Hu

Music in Lyddington offers an annual series of small classical concerts in a stunning setting – the church is beautiful and at the same time spacious and intimate. I went to a piano recital by Ching-Yun Hu yesterday and I enjoyed it very much, despite the nightmare that was getting there and back.

She played Beethoven’s Sonata in A, Op.101, two pieces by Chopin: Scherzo No.4 in E, Op.54, and Polonaise in A flat Op.53, and after the interval four Schubert transcriptions by Liszt, i.e. Aufenhalt, Standchen von Shakespeare, Auf dem Wasser zu Singen, Erlkonig, followed by one of two Rachmaninov’s Sonata, No.2 in B flat minor Op.36.

I particularly liked the Erlkoenig piece because although I knew the poem before she explained how Liszt’s transcription distinguished four different ‘voices’ – the narrator, the father, the son, and the Erlkoenig. Listening to the piece I really felt I could follow the ‘story’ in musical terms, too.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s